Installing LibreNMS in a FreeBSD jail?

Has anyone installed LibreNMS in a FreeBSD jail? I’ve got a FreeNAS machine and I’m trying to get a jail up & running with Libre but no luck yet. I can install it from ports or “pkg install librenms” but it certainly doesn’t work out of the box. I followed the CentOS guide & adjusted the directories where needed. But I wasn’t able to get the snmd service to run (I’m still very new to FreeBSD) and when I browse to the jail’s IP, I get an “Internal Service Error” page. Before installing Libre I was able to get the “It Works!” default apache page.

I tried to install LibreNMS two-three months ago from ports on FreeBSD v11.1. There are too many linux-isms to overcome still. Just getting the database to have the correct schema failed for me. I suspect you are running into the same general issues I did.

Conversely, I was easily able to get LibreNMS up and running on Ubuntu v17.10 with a little fakery around the current fping version.

I’d like see LIbreNMS installable on *BSD, but that would mean a few changes to the codebase (e.g., replace bash scripts with sh scripts)

We’ve been running LibreNMS on FreeBSD for over 2 years now, and although we’re not running it in a jail I see no reason why it couldn’t. However, FreeNAS is a derivative of FreeBSD so I can’t comment on if it would run on that.

If you do run it on FreeBSD, keep in mind that the port is quite out of date. I’ve just done a git-based installation to stay more current, but it is a little more work to set up than just doing an installation from ports/packages.