Adding multiple devices + device configurations?

Greetings!

I am new to LibreNMS but it’s so well made and well documented that I’m pretty much settled on it to replace our aging ZenOss install. I managed to install LibreNMS, and bulk add devices to it through the CLI, configure some of the SNMP extenders on our machines to monitor certain applications, add Nagios type Services, etc… All seems to be working splendidly.

But now, I googled and searched all over the docs, and I have a big question. Under ZenOSS, which works with some sort of device tree, it was possible to ‘pre-configure’ future hosts from that group and apply a set of similar parameters.

For example: i’d like all of my hosts from group X to have the same Services configured, and to have the same set of Applications for every of those devices. Is this possible, or do I have to configure each of our 100something hosts manually one by one?

Any input would be greatly appreciated, because I really don’t feel like reviewing 100 hosts to click some buttons to add Apache as an application, and configure a dozen Services per host.

Cheers and thanks in advance

Hello!

I guess it is possible to do on a database level, even though I don’t personally use neither application, nor services.
Have a look at the database for applications and services tables - they seem to store what you are after.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for the reply. I’m digging deeper right now, it seems to be possible through the API. I really wish there was a CLI command to deal with this but it doesn’t seem to be the case. Ideally, a device template would be the best. I might be able to simply add what needs to be added through the API as I add machines through Ansible.

Thanks for your insights about the DB, i’ll also look into it, it might be faster.

Cheers