Hey, we just discovered (tested with multiple users) that when an admin user changes their password, the admin permissions are removed.
Another admin has to grant them again so the user can do anything again.
We use the mysql auth method.
This only happens if the user changes their password via my settings. If he does this via manage users, the permissions are not removed.
The same behavior is the case if the user only has global read permissions.