Confused with LibreNMS Install Documentation (PHP and WebUI)

Hey Community,

This is my first attempt to install LibreNMS… I’m installing on a ProxMox container which uses Ubuntu 22.0.4, MariaDB, NGINX, and PHP version 8.1. I don’t quite understand the LibreNMS installation documentation for configuring PHP.

Would like to note the instructions I’m following: Installing LibreNMS - LibreNMS Docs

Can someone clarify the below? What is fastcgi_pass, am I supposed to change the listen link to /run/php-fpm-librenms.sock or changes the listen link to fastsci_pass location?

Change listen to a unique path that must match your webserver’s config (fastcgi_pass for NGINX and SetHandler for Apache) :

listen = /run/php-fpm-librenms.sock

My next question is when I browse to the ip address of the Librenms Server I am presented with the default Welcome to NGINX index page. I’m not sure what I missed in the steps and when I go through them I think I have done everything…

thoughts?

Thanks,

Joe

We only support Nginx on Ubuntu 22.04 so just copy and paste what’s in the docs.

rm /etc/nginx/sites-enabled/default
systemctl restart nginx
systemctl restart php8.1-fpm

You should just need to copy and paste all the commands pretty much verbatim

Thanks laf! I copied the listen statement, I’m just not clear on what the intent of fastcgi_pass is. I did miss the remove default file so I appreciate pointing that out. One thing I would note on the documentation at the end is, browsing to the hostname of the new server I had to put a /dashboard after ip address (fqdn) in order for the LibreNMS webui to display instead of NGINX welcome page.

Thanks for all the help!

This might help explain what fastcgi is: https://www.reddit.com/r/webdev/comments/ulvk8/can_anyone_explain_like_i_am_5_what_is_fastcgi/