Help with performance tuning

I’m new to LibreNMS and I am not a Linux expert by any means. I’ve got LibreNMS up and working, but I think I need to dial in the performance. I’m running on Ubuntu with Apache. I’m getting a lot of gaps in my graphs and I haven’t even set that many up yet. I’ve read through the docs, but I think a lot of stuff there assumes a level of knowledge of Linux that I just don’t have. So, I’m hoping someone can give me some help. Explain it to me like I’m 5. And a Windows user.

This is the document I’m using: Performance - LibreNMS Docs

RRDcached

Since version 1.5, rrdtool / rrdcached now supports creating rrd files over rrdcached. If you have rrdcached 1.5.5 or above, you can also tune over rrdcached. To enable this set the following config:

$config['rrdtool_version'] = '1.5.5';

NOTE: This feature requires your client version of rrdtool to be 1.5.5 or over, in addition to your rrdcached version.

First, I assume that line should be added to /opt/librenms/config.php. Is that correct?
Second, the version of rrdtool/rrdcached I have installed is 1.7.0-1build1. Do I use 1.5.5 in that line in the config file, or do I use the actual version I have? In my instance should it be “$config[‘rrdtool_version’] = ‘1.7.0’;” or “$config[‘rrdtool_version’] = ‘1.5.5’;”?

MySQL Optimisation

It’s advisable after 24 hours of running MySQL that you run MySQL Tuner which will make suggestions on things you can change specific to your setup.

One recommendation we can make is that you set the following in my.cnf under a [mysqld] group:

innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit = 0

You can also set this to 2. This will have the possibility that you could lose up to 1 second on mysql data in the event MySQL crashes or your server does but it provides an amazing difference in IO use.