Install Woes

So, I am installing this on my ESXI 6.5 box. I am utilizing Ubuntu 20.04 as the medium. I am also rather new to this so I am following the instructions at:

I am following the instructions and I am at this point:

su - librenms
./scripts/composer_wrapper.php install --no-dev
exit

At the “librenms@librenms:~$” prompt it is asking for a password

I have looked and don’t see what the password is. I have used my root and user passwords to no avail and using librenms as a password also yields no positive results.

What is the default password for this?

Thank you,

Kevin

Forgot to add, this is the next prompt: [sudo] password for librenms:

i think you made a mistake
su - librenms, when translated to “normal language” is:
i am simple user XXXX and i want to become user “librenms”
to achieve this, i need “su” command (switch user)
and normaly, “su” will ask you for password

but, in you example,

At the “librenms@librenms:~$” prompt it is asking for a password

you are already become “librenms” user, as you could see from prompt
so your next step is:
1 ./scripts/composer_wrapper.php install --no-dev
2. exit

Understood but now it wants a password. These are the exact instructions from the LibreNMS site to build your own system.

It is prompting for a password but there is nothing about a root password for switching over to the librenms user.

These instructions are from: Installing LibreNMS - LibreNMS Docs so I’m doing exactly what is called for.

OK, I solved this issue. I just changed the password for librenms and that seems to have solved the problem. I have a new issue for another topic.

No need to set a password for the librenms user (and you probably shouldn’t, as with any other user account created specifically to run a service rather than intended for interactive logins) you just need to run su as root, as root always has the ability to change to a user account even one without a password set.

So you should have been doing sudo su - librenms