Installing LibreNMS on Mikrotik Router Container - next steps

I am on a quest to install a bandwidth monitor that will live in a container(s) on my Mikrotik Router.

For the project I am using a RB5009, but ultimately plan to run these on Mikrotik HAP AX3, to help some friends and family to have some more info on their home network than just the basic graphs Mikrotik supply.

So, after quite a bit forwards and backwards on Mikrotik forums, LibreNMS was one of the solutions put forward, and overall feedback on LibreNMS is also quite good.

At the moment the status quo is that librenms/librenms:latest is up and running, as well as MariaDB. Each in it’s own container.

More info on steps etc here (Containerized SNMP monitoring (short term) - a step above built-in graphs - MikroTik)

I am new to LibreNMS, so would like to get some pointers and suggestions as to where to go next.

I am currently able to log on to LibreNMS, and add devices (so, the DB connection is also working)

However, I can see there is no automated polling / discovery.

The plan is for a relatively basic system advising which Wifi Access Points on my LAN is up / down, and how much each of these are generating in terms of traffic. Also, most importantly, how much of my internet capacity is being used.

Thus, because of the relatively basic requiremens, and the need to keep it super lightweight, I need some guidance from all of you here on this forum please.
[I do not want to end up with too many sidecars (just essentials to get it working)

At this point in time it seems I need a polling mechanism, and timing it o execute according to a schedule.

It seems CRON is replaced by a sidecar ?Dispatcher? service, which in turn seems to be dependant on a Redis service… Quite a bit for a newbie to take in.

So, my questions to you all are:

1. How do I keep it as lightweight as possible, but able to do the basics (in containers)?