Installing Weathermap

Hello,

I’ve managed to install LibreNMS on CentOS. I’m new to LibreNMS and Linux, but want to learn both.

I’ve added a few devices to LibreNMS and I now want to install some 3rd party apps, especially the weathermaps.

I’m using this https://docs.librenms.org/Extensions/Weathermap/#installing-network-weathermap

The first part I’m stuck on is creating the Cron file/job:

Step 3.

Enable the cron process by editing your current LibreNMS cron file (typically /etc/cron.d/librenms) and add the following: LibreNMS: */5 * * * * librenms /opt/librenms/html/plugins/Weathermap/map-poller.php >> /dev/null 2>&1

[root@localhost cron.d]# cd ./librenms
-bash: cd: ./librenms: Not a directory
[root@localhost cron.d]# ls
0hourly  librenms
[root@localhost cron.d]#

What am I doing wrong?

If I go to the Weathermaps page I also get:

The map config directory is not writable by the web server user. You will not be able to edit any files until this is corrected.

I’m using CentOS 7 (Nginx)

Thanks

You need to add that line to the Cron file (LibreNMS)
Using a text editor such as vi or nano.

Eg: sudo vi /etc/cron.d/librenms

In regards to the second point, there’s possibly a few permissions you need to fix, can you provide the output of /opt/librenms/validate.php

Also SELinux on CentOS can get in the way, try disabling that and see if issues continue.

Hi Derova,

I’ve managed to edit the Cron job, but I’m stuck on the permissions error when I go to Overview > Plugins > Weathmap

The map config directory is not writable by the web server user. You will not be able to edit any files until this is corrected.

Here is the file contents you asked for, sorry I just can’t seem to copy the text and keep the format (even using the preformatted text option)…

#!/usr/bin/env php