Need a monthly "report" sent to a customer from LibreNMS? Maybe this will help!

Hello everyone, I’ve recently been playing around with LibreNMS and love its functionality. Like many before me though, I’ve needed some sort of way of reporting on the info that LibreNMS provides. Honestly, something as simple as a view of the dashboard with all the information necessary for the “report” would be great to have. Disclaimer: I am by no means a software developer, and this is actually my first foray into scripting/coding of any kind. I came up with a method of retrieving the dashboard in the form of a screenshot and emailing it to a customer. This method also allows for multiple instances of LibreNMS to be targeted if needed. Before you can get it working though, you’ll need ask yourself a few questions:

1. Do I have access to a Windows box?
  2. Do I have access to a Google Domain SMTP server or something similar?
  3. Can I stomach working with Powershell and Puppeteer/JavaScript?

If you answered yes to all of these, then this solution may be for you! On to the tutorial…

First off, let me be clear about what this tutorial accomplishes. The basic idea is to automate taking a screenshot of the dashboard of LibreNMS that’s displayed when you log in to the web interface. Whatever it is that’s shown on that dashboard is your “report”. Now for my usual customers, they want to see things like SSL certificate checks, graphs of WAN utilization, and things of that nature. Being the script kiddie that I am, I wanted LibreNMS to do the heavy lifting in terms of data aggregation and display, and the tools available on the dashboard were sufficient for my needs (and maybe yours too). So keep this in mind going forward through this tutorial.

Step 1: You’ll need to install NodeJS and Puppeteer on your windows box. I used the following tutorials to accomplish that: