Syslog Display Format

Hello,

I am new to LibreNMS. I have got it set up in Centos 6.9(Final). I have added the syslog with it. The syslog is well polled from the server but syslogs are not shown in tabular form as it is shown in demo.librenms.org.

Regards
Pratik

Can you share a screen shot? Do you use syslogd?

also just in case https://docs.librenms.org/Extensions/Syslog/

I am using syslog-ng. The following image shows the display format.

@kevin_krumm: I have followed the same documentation. I get syslog but the display format as per demo.librenms.org doesnt match.

Your interface is very strange, you’ve a mix of old icons and new one. Validate your install and post the result please. It’s probably a very old installation not updated.

Indeed it is.

./validate.php
[OK] config.php tested ok
[OK] Database connection successful
[WARN] Your RRD directory is not set to 0775, please check our installation instructions
[FAIL] fping location is incorrect or bin not installed

So, What what do you suggest me for the best.

Can you check under “About LibreNMS” your version? I think that your validate.php code is too old to return the version :stuck_out_tongue:

You need to update to new version, but it’s probably a big version jump. So be sure to have backup of everything.

Version e8a74e1
DB Schema #61
Apache 2.2.15 (CentOS)
PHP 5.3.3
MySQL 5.1.73
RRDtool 1.3.8

We were just testing for making it in production. I can make a fresh install and work on it.

You need to do a fresh install/upgrade before going to production I think, it will be better.

Hello, I have a fresh install on centos-7.3. Everything is good but while adding syslog as per the guide on https://docs.librenms.org/Extensions/Syslog/ i cannot start the syslog-ng service. I only added the configuration suggested to syslog-ng.conf file. Is there anything i have missed.

Here is my ./validate.php

./validate.php