Distributed poller set up

Hi,

Is there a complete tutorial on distributed poller setup?
I followed the installation document http://docs.librenms.org/Installation/Installation-Ubuntu-1604-Nginx/ to setup the DB, web front, but would like to have one poller on each datacenter. How do I do that?

Any helps will be appreciated.

Thanks

2 Likes

Yep: http://docs.librenms.org/Extensions/Distributed-Poller/

Many Thanks @murrant

I am very new to this.
Is a poller generally means a librenms installation?
where should I install rrdcached and memcached? Can they both be installed on the web front end or the database server?

Thanks

Yes a poller is a normal install but you donā€™t need to run mysql, memcached and rrdcached locally. These should all be installed in one central place - where - is up to you.

Is my diagram of how iā€™m setting up my distributed LibreNMS setup, if that helps you visualize anything

Thanks All!
These are very helpful to me!

I was having some issues after I installed memcached and rrdcached. The graphs stopped drawing, the poller still polls, but nothings shows on the graph after I bounced nginx.

I put web front, rrdcached, memcached and a poller on one box.
I follow this doc to install and configure memcached http://docs.librenms.org/Extensions/Memcached/
this doc to install and configure rrdcache for ubuntu http://docs.librenms.org/Extensions/RRDCached/
Finally, I follow the document @murrant gave me to configure everything again.

Then after all of that, the graphing stopped working. When I validate my installation, I got this:
[FAIL] Cannot connect to rrdcached instance

Any clues?

Thanks

Harry

Run ./validate.php first of all.

Likely it is a file permission issue.

That is the output of the Validate.php
I put this configuration in the config.php file in /opt/librenms
Can someone kindly help me to verify?

# Memcached
$config['memcached']['enable'] = true;
$config['memcached']['host'] = "localhost";